Welcome to the Official page of the Presidency of the Portuguese Republic

Note on navigating with support technologies

On this page you will find two navigation aids: a search engine (shortcut key 1) | Skip to content (shortcut key 2)
Cerimónia de agraciamento do Eng. António Guterres
Cerimónia de agraciamento do Eng. António Guterres
Palácio de Belém, 2 de fevereiro de 2016 see more: Cerimónia de agraciamento do Eng. António Guterres


Click here to reduce font size| Click here to increase font size
President Cavaco Silva congratulated President-elect of Mozambique

The President of the Republic addressed a message of congratulations to the President-elect of the Republic of Mozambique, Dr. Filipe Nyusi.

Following is the text of the message from President Cavaco Silva:

“Mister President,

On the occasion of Your Excellency’s election as President of the Republic of Mozambique I address you, on behalf of the People of Portugal and in my own personal name, our warmest congratulations and wishes for your success in the high office you have been called upon to perform by the people of Mozambique.

I am certain that, during Your Excellency’s mandate, the special bonds of friendship and cooperation that link our peoples and countries will find renewed opportunities for strengthening and deepening, both bilaterally and within the framework of CPLP. Your Excellency may count upon my personal drive for this to continue, convinced as I am that a closer relationship between Portugal and Mozambique will be in the best interests of our peoples and countries.

I reiterate my congratulations and beg you to accept, Mister President, my best wishes for Your Excellency’s personal wellbeing and for the prosperity and progress of the fraternal people of Mozambique.

Aníbal Cavaco Silva”


© 2006-2016 Presidency of the Portuguese Republic

You have gained access to the records of the Official Site of the Presidency of the Republic from 9 March 2006 to 9 March 2016.

The contents available here were entered in the site during the 10 year period covering the two mandates of President of the Republic Aníbal Cavaco Silva.